Do you consider the idea of obtaining a Missouri barber license? It is easier to reach your goals when you are well-informed about the ins and outs of the sphere you are interested in. Thus, the first and most important step is to learn the general conditions and rules that come with your dream job.
There are a number of requirements to follow if you want to successfully gain your goal. Be sure to cover all of the following:
So, first things first, let’s start with compulsory training.
If you want to pursue the profession, you should enroll in a specialized school that has state approval. For this, you need to fill in an enrollment application and submit the following:
It is compulsory for all the students to cover at least 1000 hours in a period of six months, though the best result is 1500 hours.
There is yet another option that can lead you right to the goal. You can choose to work under a licensed professional. If you chose to work with a supervisor, it is required to cover at least 2000 hours. In this case, during the traineeship, you will be asked to submit quarterly reports on your advancements.
The following compulsory subjects should be included in the program:
The program may also include topics on state laws, barbershop management, etc.
After the completion of the training, your next step is to take a barber’s licensure examination conducted by the Board. It takes place every Monday, but the location each week varies and takes place in different cities:
St. Louis – 1st Monday
Kansas City – 2nd Monday
Jefferson City – 3rd Monday
Springfield – 4th Monday
There are, also, other preconditions that determine your participation in the exam. You need to:
As in other states like Mississippi, the examination consists of written and theoretical sections. Overall, the main questions generally cover topics like tools preparation, haircutting, shaving, face, and skin diseases. Moreover, the knowledge of laws on barbering is essential.
The certification fee is $20.
The permits are refreshed once in two years. Generally, the renewal date is September 30th. The fixed payment is $30.
Wouldn’t it be exciting to open your own barbershop according to your own taste and expectations? After working at a regular beauty salon and accumulating some experience and knowledge on the ins and outs of the field, you can surely initiate your own business.
To be able to make your dream come true, be sure you have prepared the following: